Back to Top

GENERAL MUNICIPAL ELECTION - NOVEMBER 6, 2018                                                                                              

General Candidate Information – Oceanside’s Elected Offices 

Oceanside’s next General Municipal election will be held on Tuesday, November 6, 2018. The positions up for election include two members of the City Council (District #1 and District #2) and the City Treasurer (At-Large). Municipal elections are nonpartisan.

The City of Oceanside will be moving from "At-Large" City Council seats to "District-Based" City Council seats in the November 2018 General Election. The newly formed City Council Districts were created with public input and will be phased in during the next two election cycles. The Red #1 District and Blue #2 District will be introduced in the 2018 November General election. The Green #3 District and the Tan #4 District will be introduced in the 2020 November General Election. After all of the Districts have all been introduced, the City Council will be comprised of four City Council Members who each live in and represent one of the established City Council Districts and one Mayor who will remain elected “At-Large”.

Each current member of the City Council was elected to an “At-Large” seat. This means that until their term expires, they will continue to serve in an “At-large” capacity. Therefore, they are allowed to live anywhere in the City of Oceanside until their term expires. However, when their term expires, they will be required to live within the boundaries of the District that is on the ballot during that election in order for them to be eligible to run for that City Council seat.

For more information about District Elections, please click here.
Public Service Announcement - District Elections - 2018

Oceanside is a Charter City but follows the California Elections Code, Government Codes and Fair Political Practices Commission regulations in all election matters. The City Clerk serves as the Election Officer for the City. All election-related questions should be addressed to the City Clerk Department at (760) 435-3001 or e-mailed to

Oceanside consolidates its elections with San Diego County, working with the San Diego County Registrar of Voters.

For more information you may visit the San Diego Registrar’s website at

Paid for by Rodriguez for Mayor 2020 FPPC # 1428010
Powered by - Political Websites
Close Menu